Joho the Blog
An Entry from the Archives

« Ads Fastforwarding over You || Back to Blog | Happy, Thanks. Not Really Giving. »

November 27, 2002

Spam I Almost Bit

This morning I received a fax from "Arthur Moore" on behalf of "Communication Advisors LLC" telling me that I've "been recommended to participate as a member of the advisory Board for a telphone company, which will be fully licensed and oeprating in the U.S.A." For just 2-3 hours per month of telephone consulting I will be compensated with a "potential income in excess of $100,000.00"

Good one! An appeal to my vanity. An offer of potential riches. But the line at the bottom gave it away: "If you would like to be removed from our database, please call toll free 1-866-446-1905."

Posted by D. Weinberger at November 27, 2002 11:28 AM


Comments

That one almost got Emmanuel Goldstein, too. He reproduces the fax in the latest issue of 2600. Any clue what the scam might be?

Posted by: evano | December 2, 2002 10:30 AM


I don't know what the scam was. Care to respond and find out? :)

Posted by: David Weinberger | December 2, 2002 12:50 PM


I just got this same fax this morning. In doing a keyword search for the company - no site, of course - I found this site and your comments.

I called them and was told Mr. Moore was not yet in the office but Eddie, who answered the phone, could help me.

I asked Eddie what it cost to be an Advisory Board member. He said he could certainly give me info that would 'lead up' to that point. I told him, no, I didn't need the info I just needed to know how much it cost.

This Eddie, clearly not a very clever or articulate con man, said "they don't usually like me to give that information over the phone." I said "Im sure they don't. I am on a web site where people are discussing this scam. I will let them know that indeed it is a scam."

And I hung up.

Posted by: Sharon Hill | December 4, 2002 09:52 AM


Actually, I rather enjoy getting toll-free numbers on junk faxes like this. I tend to call them up and ask for their fax number, which they NEVER want to give out. I called them today, and they refused to offer any number so I just started hitting re-dial over and over and over again.

Try that sometime to a business. It drives them NUTS and tends to bring a few giggles to my otherwise normal day.

By the way, Glen at extension 105 finally gave me the number 305-899-0678. Don't know if it is valid, but what the hell.

Posted by: Mark Deal | December 11, 2002 11:05 AM


The Better Business Bureau in Spokane, WA (http://www.spokane.bbb.org/alerts/alerts.html?newsid=132&newstype=2) posted that it costs $20,000 to buy into the partnership. This fax comes from many different companies, signed by different people. The BBB doesn't specifically say it is a scam, but it does advise to be extremely careful about responding. I threw the fax away.

Posted by: Tad Mayer | January 8, 2003 10:00 AM


Just $20K? Why, with potential income in excess of $100K, it'll pay for itself in weeks! What a bargain!

Posted by: David Weinberger | January 8, 2003 01:17 PM


I got the fax this morning, googled the LLC name and got this site. I assumed it was a scam but it's always good to find out what's what. Maybe I'll program my fax machine to call the toll free number.

Posted by: Brian Sabean | January 15, 2003 02:10 PM


Wait a minute all of you naysayers!! These are good people, they let me pay my $20,000 over a period of 6 months interest free. They were kind enough to bill my different credit cards each month.

Once, I have this paid off they will let me know how to start earning BIG $$$$. Who'll will be laughing then??

Seriously, this is a good BB to get info about scams. I too, searched for this company and found this website. Good Job.

Posted by: Kevin Finley | January 30, 2003 11:04 AM


Wait a minute all of you naysayers!! These are good people, they let me pay my $20,000 over a period of 6 months interest free. They were kind enough to bill my different credit cards each month.

Once, I have this paid off they will let me know how to start earning BIG $$$$. Who'll will be laughing then??

Seriously, this is a good BB to get info about scams. I too, searched for this company and found this website. Good Job.

Posted by: Kevin Finley | January 30, 2003 11:04 AM


Wednesday, 5 February, 2003

This is the second time I've received this fax. I threw the other one away immediately, but receiving it a second time, I was inspired to look around on the web, and found only this site and one which purports to be a copy of minutes of a meeting.

I guess it was Sharon who actually called and got the run-around, but clearly, they want money up front and are not willing to give details.

Thanks for the input of all of you.

Fannie

Posted by: Fannie Toner | February 5, 2003 02:03 PM


Would really like to know how they got our names in the first place and would also like to know if they really found some victims to pay for running all those faxes.

Posted by: Anonymous | February 13, 2003 11:14 AM


Here's another clue that this is a scam: The perpetrators can't even spell the name of the company consistently. At one point in the fax, the name is "Communication Advisors L.L.C." but later in the document "communication" has become pluralized -- "Communications Advisors L.L.C." Talk about careless.

By the way, these guys are also calling themselves "The Infomercial Group" and running the same scam. They changed a few words, and played around with the formatting a bit, but it's obviously the same deal. Different phone number and "removal" number, though.

Posted by: Jonny Drake | March 31, 2003 12:34 PM


Just got my fax this morning- they've added a confidentiality notice at the top. I did the search, found this page and called. The man who answered spoke with a broken English accent. I kept telling him I want to be rich over and over again in a THICK foreign accent. Frustrated, he finally hung up. Guess he doesn't want my money! Ha ha.

Posted by: shannon z | April 4, 2003 04:12 PM


Found this site after getting my fax last week. Noticed that the fax is time stamped as EST - Eastern Standard Time. Their fax number (if it is true) comes from an area code in Miami, FL. There are two Arthur Moore listings in Miami - one without an address. No listing for CA, LLC. Have fun with Arthur's home number in the White Pages.

Posted by: Shorty | April 12, 2003 12:56 AM


I got the fax today. Like the others I did a google search and found this site. I expected this was a scam.

Posted by: Bob | April 21, 2003 11:10 AM


Just when I was sure that my visionary and leadership skills had finally been noticed, I find out it's a scam!

Posted by: Rob | May 7, 2003 03:04 PM


Post a comment

Guidelines for Commenting

Basically, you can say what you want. (Click here for the fine print.)

If you haven't left a comment here before, your comment may be put into a queue for me to approve. Sorry for the delay. Blame the damn spammers.